Hotel Ste. Genevieve, MO
CHECK AVAILABLE BOOKING DATES BELOW
Motel & Lodging in Ste. Geneviene
Woven into the storied history of Ste. Genevieve, MO, this century old building nestled in the heart of the historic district, offers a unique dining experience unlike any in the area. Featuring family friendly to chef crafted menu items, private dining availability, catered events, and craft beers. In June 2018 we reopened Hotel Audubon offering boutique style lodging featuring old world charm with modern amenities. Enjoy nearby wineries, nature hikes, historic buildings, festivals, or just a romantic escape. Audubon’s is truly a place to renew old friendships and create new memories!
- 1901- Audubon property first purchased by charles petrequin for $2,280.
- 1903-Ed sexauer and company opened the Palace Bar
- 1904-Gem lunch room and short order restaurant opens
- 1905-First fire in the city hotel
- 1905-James Beauchamp opens a barber shop in the building
- 1906-Hotel declares bankruptcy
- 1907-Hotel reopens in January
- 1908-Eugene Stanton open his plumping business
- 1912-Hotel Proprietress S.M Wisely dies in the hotel…perhaps she is the spirit some have experience in the building
- 1920-The kitchen catches on fire and spreads to the dining room. Estimated damage was $1000
- 1921-In February John Aulsbery of Jackson, MO purchases the city hotel from Bill Herbsteith AKA “City Bill”
- 1921-In November, Aulsbury sells the hotel furnings to Mrs. Carrie Miller of Festus, MO
- 1947-First Television in Ste Genevieve County was installed in the Palace Bar
- 1956-A hotel guest caught his mattress on fire while smoking in bed. It was doused by buckets of water and placed in the hall. By 4:00 AM the top floor of the hotel was in flames. Two guests suffered injuries estimated damage to the building was $50000. Our basement(Cellar 56) survived this fire
- 1961-Fire struck again. Most of the damage was confined to the basement and main floor. Damage again was about $50,000
- 1986-Hotel and restaurant purchased by Herb & Norma Fallert
- 2013-Ste Genevieve Hotel was purchased by Audubon’s Redevelopment LLC owned by Jim & Marybeth Ferguson, Greg & Pat Ferguson and Herb & Norma Fallert
- 2013-2014 the Cellar and 1st floor were completely renovated
- 2014 Audubon’s of Ste. Genevieve opened as a farm to table restaurant.
- 2017-Audubon’s Grill & Bar was opened by Audubon’s Redevelopment LLC.
- 2017- Audubon’s Redevelopment LLC won an award for the historical renovations to the Audubon’s Building
- 2018-Hotel Audubon’s opened in the Summer